You Eaters

Photo is the property of *(www.colourbox.com)

Running from the dark, the light eludes my footfalls.
My shadow cascades unknown silhouettes.
The unease of something following, hunting.
My fear permeates a sweet scent of helplessness.
I am the prey.
My only weapons my mind, my pen.
I mentally evade feral attacks.
Mindless brutes lash with mouths of razors.
Black claws fail at ripping my throat.
Cold logic extinguishes the heat of their rage.
The guttural rumble of empty bellies orchestrate my victory song.
They hunger for creativity and individuality.
They will eat who you are, until the mirrors image is untrue.
The only way to survive is to…
just be you.

©R.Marrs 2014.

5 comments on “You Eaters

  1. I love this post. Very philosophical. I love these lines: “My shadow cascades unknown silhouettes” ; “They will eat who you are, until the mirrors image is untrue.” Just incredible stuff.

  2. Pingback: You Eaters | Americana Injustica

Leave a Reply

