Forget me not

As the last of your warmth slips into nothingness, I am reminded of the absolute beauty of you.
How I would watch you and not believe you were real until the razor perfection of your smile cuts away the dream, and there you are…pure reality.
Nothing can erase you.
Even as time slowly erodes my memory your Image remains.
Even the smallest details, softly gleam with pristine brilliance.
I did so much wrong at the right time.
I tried to cauterize the darkness of my life and in my pain and frustration I burned everything…even you.
Forgive me…
My Imperfection is my curse.
Without you the weight of it all is crushing.
You made me better.
What a fool I am to deny my own Cure.
Remember me…
In your heart let the good of me live there

For you my love will never stop.

As for me…Forget me not.

©R. Marrs 2014.

3 comments on “Forget me not

  1. Beautiful sentimental expression for your beloved.

    favorite line: I tried to cauterize the darkness of my life and in my pain and frustration I burned everything…even you.

Leave a Reply

